A few Pinterest recipe reviews

I spent the first half of the summer changing the way I plan our monthly meals and do our monthly grocery budget, so I have also been on the hunt for great, EASY recipes that only require basic ingredients that I can keep on hand and then one or two to pick up weekly. So, naturally, I have been on PINTEREST! Here are a few of the new recipes I have tried this summer and how my family did or did not care for them.

“Man Pleasing Chicken” – by Witty in the City

  This is a really easy main dish using chicken thighs, which I love because they are inexpensive and my husband loves chicken thighs. The title accurately describes this chicken – my husband loved it!!  It was not my absolute favorite but I did like it as well so I will be making this again.  The best part is that there is only five ingredients and they are all things I keep in the pantry (except for the rosemary which is in the garden), making it the perfect meal for planning ahead.  You can pair it with a sauteed veggie and a salad and dinner is done!

 

“The End Of Chicken Parmesan As You Know It” – Chicken Parmesan Bake by

This is absolutely my new favorite weeknight chicken recipe.  It is soooo easy to make and super delicious.  I LOVE chicken parm but it can be a pain to make – so many steps and so many dirty dishes!  This gives me an option for fulfilling my craving without the hassle.  I can’t say I will never make chicken parm again, because, well, my chicken parm is amazing! But this has now become a monthly staple in my meal planning.  Once again, all the ingredients are things I usually have so it is super convenient!

 

Crock-Pot Applesauce

I am including a link to the recipe even though I didn’t actually use this recipe, but I had never thought of making applesauce in the crockpot before!  I usually have a batch of applesauce in the fridge for Caleb because he LOVES applesauce and I prefer to make things myself than buying them pre-done.  Making it in the crock-pot worked really well!  The apples seemed to cook more evenly than on the stovetop and I didn’t have to worry about having a burner on.  Sometime I will have to try this recipe and see how it compares to mine, it looks really yummy!

 

Ham and Cheese Sliders by The Girl Who Ate Everything

My mom and I have been making these for years and then I saw this on Pinterest so I thought I would include this recipe as well because they are delicious!  In the recipe, the blogger uses mayo and miracle whip on the sandwiches but I omit this and they are soooo yummy and you save a lot of fat.  I love making these for lunches with friends or parties, everyone loves them and they are really easy to make.  A favorite in our house!

 

 

 

 

 

Cream Cheese Crock-Pot Chicken by The Larson Lingo

I had really high hopes for this recipe but I did not much care for it.  I made it with Cilantro Lime rice in burritos and the rice had more flavor than the chicken.  However, I used the leftovers the next day in the crock pot to make tortilla soup and LOVED it, so now I keep a batch of this chicken recipe in the freezer so I can take it out, thaw it overnight, and throw it in the crock pot with the rest of the soup ingredients and make tortilla soup.  So even though we don’t eat it as is, I am still a fan of this recipe for a chicken base to make other things.  I plan on trying some additional alterations because the recipe is a really good start.

 

 

I love trying new recipes and all of these have earned a spot in my recipe box!!

Hope you find this helpful,

Allison

1 Comment

  1. These all look great. Thanks for the reviews!

Leave a Reply

